Chelsea Win 5th League Cup in an All-Capital Final

Must Read

Lecturer Sends Female Student Out Of Class Over Indecent Dressing (Video)

A pained University of Osun (UNIOSUN) student has taken to social media to rant after she was chased out...

Algerian Health Ministry Announces First Case Of Coronavirus

There is a new case of Coronavirus in Africa following the Algerian Health Ministry announcement of a confirmed case...

Sokoto Director Of Finance Charged To Court For Having Sex With Minor

The Director of Finance, Sokoto State Urban and Regional Planning Board, Ahmed Yahaya and two other staff of the...

I Hope You Like The Road I Built In Your Neighborhood: Akeredolu Mocks PDP Chieftain

Ondo state governor, Rotimi Akeredolu of the All Progressive Congress(APC) has fired a direct shot at Tayo Jegede, the...

Nigerian Newspaper Headlines Today: 26th February 2020

Good Morning, welcome to Information Nigeria's Newspaper headlines for today, 26th February 2020.Here are the major headlines.Obaseki Is Training...
Omaku Cephas
Cephas is a Content Strategist who loves to write about travels and sports. He's a proud supporter of local publishers and wants to see them get more creative with genuine content. He's keen on rekindling your passion for anything sports and travels.

John Terry and a Kyle Walker own-goal helped Chelsea claim the 2015 League Cup in an all-Capital Wembley final on Sunday.

Chelsea put up a commanding display with captain Terry opening scores with their first shot on target after Christian Eriksen had hit the woodwork for Spurs.

Costa teed up with fellow Spaniard Cesc Fabregas to double the Blues’ lead in the 56th minute, when his shot took a huge deflection off defender Kyle Wallker into the net.

John Terry Fires Chelsea in the Lead against Spurs at Wembley. Image: Getty.
John Terry Fires Chelsea in the Lead against Spurs at Wembley. Image: Getty.

Just like in his initial spell in 2004, the Capital One Cup is Chelsea’s first trophy since Jose Mourinho’s return and the Portuguese’s first since 2012.

The final whistle was met with a rapturous applause from the 89,297 crowd gathered at the Wembley Stadium, before Terry, who was voted Man of the Match, led his team-mate up the terrace to collect the prestigious Alan Hardaker trophy.

Chelsea are now tied on five League Cup triumphs with Aston Villa in third and trail leaders Liverpool by three.

The last final involving both London neighbours ended in disappointment for the then Avram Grant Chelsea seven years ago but, with either team tied on four successes prior to kick-off, the westerners were clear in their intention to pull ahead on the roll of Cup honours.

Mauricio Pochettino’s men never really troubled Chelsea, aside Eriksen’s tenth-minute free-kick which came off the crossbar to safety.

And without the suspended Nemaja Matic and the injured John Mikel Obi, Mourinho’s preference for a central defender Kurt Zouma in a defensive midfield role proved effective for the Stamford Bridge outfit.

Spurs’ other attempt in the opening period was comfortably dealt with by Petr Cech- preferred instead of Thibaut Courtois- after England Under-21 Harry Kane ended a fine run with a low shot from 20 yards.

John Terry Celebrates With Garry Cahill and Diego Costa after Scoring Chelsea's Opening Goal. Image: Getty.
John Terry Celebrates With Garry Cahill and Diego Costa after Scoring Chelsea’s Opening Goal. Image: Getty.

Chelsea capitalised on their opponents’ defensive mix-up to claim the lead right at the break. Willian’s free-kick from the right was deflected off Dany Rose’s head to the feet of Terry, whose shot took a second deflection off Kane past Hugo Loris into the net.

Another deflection resulted to Chelsea’s second goal 11 minutes after the break, as Fabregas released Costa in on goal inside the Whites’ penalty area only for the Spanish striker’s seemingly harmless shot across goal to be deflected past Lloris inside the near post by Walker.

There was barely any other salient effort from both sides before referee Anthony Taylor blew the final whistle.

Mourinho has now won his first trophy since lifting the Spanish La Liga with Real Madrid in 2012 and Chelsea their first since the Europa League final triumph over Benfica in Amsterdam in 2013.

- Advertisement -
Ad ==> Discover how a young Nigerian graduate now makes a consistent 40k per week doing a legitimate online business. You too can start yours now, click here!!!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -