Hurricane APC Sweeps Across Kaduna As Makarfi Loses Bid To Return To Senate

Ahmed-MakarfiThe All Progressives Congress has won the Senate and all the six House of Representatives seats in Northern Kaduna Senatorial District.

Incumbent Senator for the area, Ahmed Makarfi, of the Peoples Democratic Party, was defeated by Suleiman Hunkuyi of the All Progressives Congress.

The Returning Officer for the senatorial district, Haruna Kaita, announced that Mr. Hunkuyi secured 447, 919 votes to defeat Mr. Makarfi, who had 136,197 votes.

“Hunkuyi won with the highest number of votes and satisfied all requirements of the law and is hereby returned as duly elected senator for Northern Kaduna Senatorial District”, he said.

Mr. Hunkuyi had served as commissioner under Mr. Makarfi when he was Governor of Kaduna State from 1999 to 2007.

In the results declared for the House of Representatives, the APC won in all the six federal constituencies in the zone with wide margins.

In Ikara, the Returning Officer, Abdullahi Ahmed, declared Yusuf Bala-Ikara of APC winner for Ikara/Kubau federal constituency.

He said Mr. Bala-Ikara won with 97,053 votes to defeat his closest rival, Tsoho Kargi of PDP, who scored 27,921 votes.

In Zaria, the Returning Officer, Aminu Yusuf, said the incumbent, Abbass Tajuddeen of APC, emerged winner with 116, 295 votes.

He defeated Ibrahim Umar-Rabagaddama of PDP, who got 11,336 votes, and Magaji Baba of ADC, who scored 595 votes.

The Returning Officer for Sabongari federal constituency, Batholomy Nwagu, said the incumbent, Mohammed Datti-Babawo of APC, won with 65,329 votes to defeat Hadiza Mohammed of PDP, who polled 18,092 votes, and Musa Sale of APGA with 182 votes.

The Returning Officer for Soba constituency, Yahaya Sani, declared Mohammed Musa-Soba of APC, winner with 52,701 votes, after defeating the incumbent member, Ibrahim Khalid of PDP, who got 10,529 votes and Aliyu Sa’idu of Labour Party, who had two votes.

Also, the APC candidate for Lere federal constituency, Lawal Mohammed-Rabi’u, scored 55,654 to emerge winner.

The Returning Officer, Ibrahim Adamu, said the APC candidate defeated the incumbent member of the House of Representatives for the area, Ibrahim Nuhu of PDP, who scored 39,566 votes.

Similarly, Mohammed Usman of APC won the Makarfi/Kudan federal constituency seat by defeating a former speaker of the state assembly, Ahmed Jumare of PDP.