INEC Declares PDP Winner Of Nasarawa North Senatorial Seat

PDP1The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), has declared Philip Gyunka of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), winner of Saturday’s National Assembly Election for Nasarawa North Senatorial District.

The electoral body also declared the PDP candidate, Emmanuel Umbugadu, winner of the Akwanga/Nasarawa-Eggon/Wamba Federal Constituency election.

Umbugadu is the incumbent member representing the area.

The INEC Returning Officer, Awal Ibrahim, who declared the winners at Akwanga on Sunday, said they scored the highest number of votes cast.


According to Ibrahim, Gyunka polled 32, 761 votes to defeat APC and APGA candidates who got 26, 340 and 32, 310 votes respectively. Umbugadu garnered 63, 016 votes to defeat his closest rival, Mary Uwongulu of APC, who got 32,762 votes.

The Returning Officer said the two candidates, having satisfied the requirements, were declared winners in line with the provisions of the law.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here