#NigeriaDecides: INEC Announces Presidential Results In 8 States And FCT, PDP In Early Lead

Attahiru-JegaThe Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has announced the results for presidential elections in eight states and the Federal Capital Territory.

At the International Conference Centre venue of the national collation centre, Abuja on Monday, collating officers for Ekiti, Ondo, Osun, Ogun, Enugu, Nasarawa, Oyo, Kogi and FCT, announced the results polled by each party – 14 in number – that participated in the presidential polls.

Out of the eight states and FCT announced by the collating officers before the INEC officials, led by Chairman, Prof. Attahiru Jega went on recess, the All Progressives Congress, APC, presidential candidate, Muhammadu Buhari, won in five states while the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, candidate and incumbent President Goodluck Jonathan, won in the remaining three and FCT.

However, President Jonathan has an early lead with 2, 322, 734 votes while his APC rival is trailing with 2, 302, 978 votes.

A breakdown of the votes garnered by the two leading parties are as follows:

1.      Ekiti: APC (120, 331), PDP (176, 466)

2.      Ogun: APC (308, 290), PDP (207, 950)

3.      Enugu: APC (14, 157), PDP (553, 003)

4.      Kogi: APC (264, 851), PDP (149, 987)

5.      Osun: APC (383, 603), PDP (249, 929)

6.      Ondo: APC (299, 889), PDP (251, 368)

7.      FCT: APC (146, 399), PDP (157, 195)

8.      Oyo: APC (528, 620), PDP (303, 376)

9.      Nasarawa: APC (236, 838), PDP (273, 460)

While declaring recess to allow collating officers from 18 more states, who were on their way to present their results in Abuja, Jega said the exercise would continue by 8p.m tonight.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here