Delta Governor-elect Inaugurates 98-member Transition Committees

Ifeanyi Okowa

Delta State governor-elect, Ifeanyi Okowa, has inaugurated three transition committees to ensure a smooth takeover come May 29.

The three committees comprise 98 persons drawn from different fields.

Okowa, while inaugurating the committees at the Government House, Asaba, told the people of the state that he would ensure equity and fairness in running the affairs of the state.

According to him, the committees, which include Technical Committee on Programme Development/Governance, Committee on Handover and the Committee of Night of Praise, will ensure a seamless transition in the state.

However, members are not automatically part of the incoming administration’s state executive council.

The governor-elect said that the terms of reference for the Committee on Programmes Development/Governance include making preparation for the smooth take-off and implementation of the policies and programmes of the incoming administration after inauguration; advice on governance structure, size, relationship and best practices that will enable greater efficiency and outcome; examine the 2015 budget and advice in line with work plan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here