Presidential Election: INEC formally announces Buhari as winner

INEC chairman, Jega stamps results sheet
INEC chairman, Jega stamps results sheet

The chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof Attahiru Jega, has officially declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Muhammadu Buhari as the winner of the the 2015 presidential election. He will therefore lead Nigeria for the next four years following his inauguration on May 29.

Although 14 candidates from 14 political parties were fielded for the elections, the battle was mostly between Buhari and the incumbent president Goodluck Jonathan of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

According to INEC, 31,746,490 voters were accredited for the election, 15,424,921 out of which voted for the APC. Jonathan had 12,853,162 votes and the remaining 3,468,407 was shared by the remaining 12 parties.

Announcing the winner after reading out the number of votes garnered by each of the candidates, Jega said: “That Mohammed Buhari, APC, having satisfied the requirement of the law and scored the highest number of votes is hereby returned the winner”.

The INEC chairman then handed over copies of the result sheets to representatives of political parties who had earlier signed.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here