Sarki-Dahiru Of APC Wins Lafia/Obi Federal Constituency Re-run Election

House of RepsAlhaji Abubakar Sarki-Dahiru of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has won the Nasarawa State re-run election for the Lafia/Obi Federal Constituency seat at the House of Representatives.

Mr Uji Francis, the Returning Officer for Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), announced the results in Lafia on Sunday.

He said: “Abubakar Sarki Dahiru of APC, having satisfied the requirement of the law and scoring the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner and returned elected”.

Francis said Dahiru polled 74,892 votes to beat the incumbent, Dr Joseph Kigbu of Peoples Democratic Party, who polled 70,302 votes.

He said that Mr Nurudeen Mohammed of All Progressive Grand Alliance got 1,419 votes while Mr Jonathan Dogo of the Peoples Democratic Movement polled 760 votes.

He explained that the total number of registered voters at the constituency was 285,728 while 154, 756 were accredited during the exercise.

He said the total votes cast was 150, 792, adding that 3,208 votes were rejected. (NAN)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here