Sanchez; Player Of The Year, Wenger; Manager Of The Year

Arsenal forward, Alexis Sanchez was named Player of the Year at the inaugural Facebook Football Awards.

The award winners were announced live on BT Sport 1 and streamed via Facebook on Tuesday night, as Tottenham forward Harry Kane emerged Young Player of the Year.

Sanchez received his award from fellow team-mate, Alex-Oxlade Chamberlain. The striker, who scored 16 goals in 34 matches in his first season as a Gunner, thanked Facebook fans.

Kane became the first Tottenham player to score plus 30 goals (24 in the Premier League) in all competition in a single season since Garry Lineker (1991-92). The England international was presented with his award by Wales rugby union captain and Spurs fan, Sam Warburton.

“It’s been an unbelievable season. There have been so many highlights,” Kane said.

“The best one would have to be the Arsenal game and scoring two goals. It was my first London derby so it was something very special and I won’t ever forget it.”

Alexis Sanchez and Arsene Wenger Win at Facebook Football Award. Image: Getty.
Alexis Sanchez and Arsene Wenger Win at Facebook Football Award. Image: Getty.

Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger was named Manager of the Year and his team also claimed the Best Premier League Club of the Year, beating Manchester United and champions Chelsea to second and third respectively. Arsenal prepare for the defense of their FA Cup trophy at Wembley against Aston Villa this weekend.

Gunners legend Ian Wright presented the award to The 65-year-old Frenchman, who said: “Thank you very much. I’m quite surprised but thank you very much.”

List of winners and runners up

Player of the Year: Alexis Sanchez
Eden Hazard was runner-up and David De Gea placed third.

Young Player of the Year: Harry Kane
Hector Bellerin was runner-up and Kurt Zouma took third place.

Manager of the Year: Arsene Wenger
Louis van Gaal was runner-up and Jose Mourinho took third place.

Best Premier League Club of the Year: Arsenal FC
Manchester United came in second and Chelsea third.

BT Sport Best XI of the Year

2014-15 BT Sport Premier League First XI. Image: Twitter @btsportfootball.
2014-15 BT Sport Premier League First XI. Image: Twitter @btsportfootball.

GK – David de Gea (MUFC)
DF – John Terry (CFC), Branislav Ivanovic (CFC), Laurent Koscielny, Gary Cahill (CFC)
MF – Eden Hazard (CFC), Cesc Fabregas (CFC), Santi Cazorla (AFC), Nemanja Matic (CFC)
FW – Harry Kane (THFC), Diego Costa (CFC)

Mirror Football Fan of the Year: Fresno Gooners Jordan and Chanelle Wiebe (Arsenal)
West Bromwich Albion fan Les James came second and Tottenham fan Harper Jun was third.

Content of the Year: Arsenal – Sanchez Skills
In the video, Arsenal forward and Player of the Year Alexis Sanchez shows some nifty skills in the pre-match warm-up.

Manchester United – Mata’s Surprise came in second. In the video, Juan Mata surprises a long-serving staff member at Manchester United – as he celebrated 15 years at the club

Chelsea – Mourinho Ice Bucket Challenge came in third. In the video, Jose Mourinho takes part in the Ice Bucket Challenge – nominating his daughter, Bryan Adams and James McAvoy

Facebook Club Performance of the Year
Sunderland AFC

Facebook Player Performance of the Year
David Silva, Manchester City


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here