World Cup-Bound Falcons Depart For Canada Today

Nigeria’s senior women’s national team will depart Nigeria for Canada on Tuesday night ahead of the 2015 Fifa Women’s World Cup.

The contingent will fly an Air France aircraft from the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport by midnight Tuesday and arrive in Paris on Wednesday morning, whence they will connect another flight to Toronto.

A 37-man delegation, including coach Edwin Okon-led technical crew and 24 players will board the aircraft, while skipper Evelyn Nwabuoku and forward Francesca Ordega will join the team at their training camp in Toronto.

Nwabuoku and Ordega will arrive from their respective club bases, Biik Kazygut of Kazakhstan and Washington Spirit in the United States of America.

The African champions will play a friendly match against the senior women’s national team of Canada on 25 May- same day Okon is expected to release his 23-woman squad for the World Cup.

Super Falcons Celebrates After Winning a record-Extending 7th AWC Trophy.
Super Falcons Celebrates After Winning a record-Extending 7th AWC Trophy.

The Super Falcons play Sweden in their first match of the 7th FIFA Women’s World Cup in Winnipeg on 8th June, with other matches against Australia (also in Winnipeg) and USA (in Vancouver) to come in Group D.

The Falcons have played in all previous six editions of the FIFA Women’s World Cup, reaching the quarter -finals in the United States of America in 1999.

Players dropped from the team

Chisom Henry
Yetunde Adeboyejo
Chioma Wogu
Onyinyechi Okeke
Gladys Akpa
Ramatu Abdulkarim
Winifred Eyebhokia
Chinaza Uchendu

Players on the flight to Toronto

1-Precious Dede
2- Ibubeleye Whyte
3 – Christy Ohaeriaku
4- Sandra Chii Chii
5- Onome Ebi
6- Osinachi Ohale
7- Josephine Chukwunonye
8- Ngozi Ebere
9- Blessing Edoho
10- Sarah Nnodim
11- Mariam Ibrahim
12- Ugo Njoku
13- Evelyn Nwabuoku
15- Onyinyechi Ohadugha
16- Halimat Ayinde
17- Cecilia Nku
18- Ngozi Okobi
19- Esther Sunday
20- Loveth Ayila
21- Chiwendu Ihezuo
22- Desire Oparanozie
23- Asisat Oshoala
24- Francisca Ordega
25- Iniabasi Umotong
26- Courtney Dike