APC Senators Again Defy Party’s Directive, Nominates Ndume As Majority Leader

Ali-NdumeAll Progressives Congress Senators have nominated Ali Ndume as the Majority Leader of the Senate, in flagrant disobedience to the party’s directive that Ahmed Lawan be given the role.

Sen. Lawan, who lost the position of Senate President to Bukola Saraki, despite being the party’s official candidate, was put forward by the leadership of the APC to become Majority Leader.

The governing party had maintained that its preferred candidates, who failed to be elected president and speaker for the Senate and House of Representatives respectively, be elected Majority Leaders in both chambers.

However, that was not the case on Thursday as the Senate officially nominated Mr. Ndume, representing Borno South Senatorial District, as Majority Leader.

It also nominated Bala Ibn Na’alla from Kebbi State, as deputy leader.

The Senate also nominated Senator Olusola Adeyeye from Osun State as Chief Whip while Francis Alimikhena, from Edo State, was nominated as his deputy.

The nominations are however, subject to approval.

Details later…



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here