Coach Danjuma Recalls Ikidi, Chichi, 33 Others For Olympic Qualifier

Interim Super Falcons coach, Christopher Danjuma has invited 35 players for preparation for next month’s 2016 Olympic Games qualifier.

The Nigeria senior women’s internationals will entertain Equatorial Guinea in a third round of qualifiers of the Rio Games Football Tournament qualifiers on 18 July.

Danjuma, who replaced Edwin Okon on Monday, has recalled Sweden –based defender Faith Ikidi, goalkeepers Tochukwu Oluehi and Sandra Chiichii, impressive centre –back Joy Jegede, midfielders Amarachi Okoronkwo and Osarenoma Igbinovia and Sweden -based forward Sarah Michael.

There are also goalkeepers Precious Dede and Ibubeleye Whyte, defenders Onome Ebi, Osinachi Ohale, Ngozi Ebere, Evelyn Nwabuoku, Blessing Edoho and Josephine Chukwunonye, midfielders Halimat Ayinde, Onyinyechi Ohadugha, Ngozi Okobi and Cecilia Nku, and forwards Asisat Oshoala, Francisca Ordega, Esther Sunday, Desire Oparanozie and Loveth Ayila, who were in the team that lost out at group phase of the FIFA World Cup in Canada.

Desire Oparanozie Pictured against Australia at the 2014 World Cip. Image: AFP.
Desire Oparanozie Pictured against Australia at the 2014 World Cip. Image: AFP.

All invited players are to report to the CJ Planet Hotel, Area 1, Abuja on Wednesday, 1st July, ahead of the team’s departure to Port Harcourt, venue of the first leg qualifier against Equatorial Guinea.

The return leg comes up in Bata on 2 August.

The Full List

Faith Ikidi (Pitea IF, Sweden); Onome Ebi (FK Minsk, Belarus); Osinachi Ohale (Rivers Angels); Francisca Ordega (Washington Spirit, USA); Precious Dede (Ibom Queens); Tochukwu Oluehi (Bayelsa Queens); Ibubeleye Whyte (Rivers Angels); Sandra Chiichii (Bayelsa Queens); Charity John (Rivers Angels); Joy Jegede (Delta Queens); Mariam Ibrahim (Nasarawa Amazons); Halimat Ayinde (Delta Queens); Ngozi Ebere (Rivers Angels); Onyinyechi Ohadugha (Rivers Angels); Esther Sunday (FK Minsk, Belarus); Chisom Henry (Sunshine Queens); Cecilia Nku (Rivers Angels); Desire Oparanozie (En Avant de Guingamp, France); Josephine Chukwunonye (Rivers Angels); Asisat Oshoala (Liverpool Ladies, England); Ngozi Okobi (Delta Queens); Evelyn Nwabuoku (BIIK Kazygurt, Kazakhstan); Gladys Akpa (Sunshine Queens); Alheri Jummai Ayuba (Adamawa Queens); Ginika Ike (Confluence Queens); Sherifat Sahid (Sunshine Queens); Osarenoma Igbinovia (Bayelsa Queens); Blessing Edoho (Pelican Stars); Yetunde Adeboyejo (Bayelsa Queens); Winifred Eyebhoria (Nasarawa Amazons); Ebere Okoye (Nasarawa Amazons); Sarah Michael (Kif Orebro, Sweden); Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons); Loveth Ayila (Rivers Angels); Chioma Nwogu (Confluence Queens)