Jega Leaves Office On Tuesday


Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, Prof. Attahiru Jega, is set to vacate office Tuesday when his five-year tenure ends.

According to a statement issued by the Public Affairs Department of INEC, Jega, who hails from Kebbi State, is to bow out of office with six National Commissioners who were appointed the same day with him by former President Goodluck Jonathan in 2010.

Four other National Commissioners will also leave the commission in July and August this year. They include: Dr. Abdulkadir Oniyangi, Kwara State and Mrs. Amina Bala Zakari, Jigawa State, whose tenure will expire on July 21. Dr. Chris Iyimoga, Nasarawa State and Dr. Mohammed Wali, Sokoto State will complete their tenure on August 11.


In a related development, the tenures of 16 Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) have expired and they have already left the commission last week. They are: Ahmad Makama, Bauchi State; Haliru Tambuwal, Sokoto State; Abdullahi  Danyaya, Niger  State; Abubakar Wara, Kebbi State; Mr. Mike Igini, Delta State; Prof. Selina Oko, Ebonyi State; Hussaini Mahuta, Katsina State.

Others are Dr. A. L. Ogunmola, Oyo State; Alhaji Ibrahim Zarewa, Kano State; Prof. Tukur Sa’ad, Adamawa State; Dr. Emmanuel Onucheyo, Kogi State; Kassim Gana Gaidam, Yobe State; Mr. Timothy Ibitoye, Osun State; Amb. Rufus Akeju, Lagos State;Prof. C.E. Onukaogu, Abia State; and Ibrahim Bagobiri Marafa, Zamfara State.

Jega was nominated as INEC Chairman on June 8 by President Goodluck Jonathan. According to the provisions of Section 154 (1) of the Constitution, the appointment of the Chairman and Members of INEC is by the President but subject to confirmation of the Senate. Accordingly the appointment of Professor Jega was confirmed by the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria on the 24th June, 2010.

The former vice chancellor of Bayero University Kano was lauded to have conducted the freest elections in Nigeria’s history.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here