Senators Who Become Governors Have Retrogressed – David Mark


It is not strange for ex-senators to become governors in Nigeria but Senate President, David Mark says it’s a step backward.

Speaking on Tuesday, Mark said senators who were sworn in on May 29 as governors did not deserve to be congratulated because they did not take any step forward but backward.

Mark made the remark during plenary after a motion by the Senate Leader, Victor Ndoma-Egba, to congratulate President Muhammadu Buhari.

Ndoma-Egba had urged his colleagues to congratulate their fellow senators who contested and won governorship elections on April 11 and were simultaneously sworn in on Friday.

He congratulates them over “the successful inauguration of our colleagues in the National Assembly as governors in their respective states: Hon. Aminu Tambuwal, governor of Sokoto State; Senator Ifeanyi Okowa, Governor of Delta State; Senator Ben Ayade, Governor of Cross River State; Senator Bindo Jubrilla, Governor of Adamawa State; Senator Abubakar Bagudu, Governor of Kebbi State and Hon. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, Governor of Enugu State.”

But Mark, in his remark, said he was not keen on congratulating such colleagues who had gone to become governors because in his own view, they had not taken any step of progress since a senator is superior to a governor.

He said it “is not a forward movement but if they have decided to move backward, we congratulate them.”