We Stand By Our List Of Principal Officers For NASS Members – APC

Saraki-OyegunThe All Progressives Congress (APC) has condemned what transpired at both chambers of the National Assembly on Thursday in Abuja.

In a statement issued by the party’s National Secretary, Mala Buni, the governing party said it stood by the lists sent to the Senate President and the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara respectively.

The party had sent letters to both chambers conveying names of its candidates for the principal offices of both chambers while a faction of the lawmakers favour choosing the leaders from the zones.

The offices are that of the Senate Leader, Deputy Senate Leader, House Leader, Deputy House Leader, Chief Whip and Deputy Chief Whip among others.

Senate President Saraki and House Speaker Dogara, have rejected the party’s nominees, saying the lawmakers will choose independently.

The APC said it will review the situation shortly.

”The National Caucus, Board of Trustees and National Executive Council of the party will meet within the next few days to discuss the evolving developments in the National Assembly”, it said.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here