Siasia Name 18-Man Party for Congo Battle

Must Read

Imo Verdict: PDP Announces Date For Protest

The Peoples Democratic Party(PDP) has announced the date for its peaceful and non-violent protest against the Supreme Court ruling...

Chelsea Defeated By Newcastle At St James Park

Chelsea was defeated by a lone goal during the Premier League late kick-off against Newcastle at the St James...

Anthony Joshua Prostrates Before President Buhari (Video)

A video circulating online shows the moment British Boxer, Anthony Joshua officially met with President Muhammadu Buhari in London on...

Only God Can Stop APC From Producing Anambra’s Next Governor: APC Chieftain

Anambra State Chairman of the All Progressive Congress APC, Chief Basil Ejidike, has declared that only God can stop...

Anthony Joshua Arrives Nigeria; Meets Buhari (Photos)

Unified heavyweights champion, Anthony Joshua has arrived Nigeria where he is expected to meet with President Muhammadu Buhari, having...
Omaku Cephas
Cephas is a Content Strategist who loves to write about travels and sports. He's a proud supporter of local publishers and wants to see them get more creative with genuine content. He's keen on rekindling your passion for anything sports and travels.

Head Coach of the U-23 National Team, Samson Siasia has selected 18 players for Sunday’s African U-23 Championship final round, first leg qualifier against Congo, in Port Harcourt.

The encounter coming up at the Adokiye Amiesieamaka Stadium, Port Harcourt will see the team parading old reliables like goalkeeper Emmanuel Daniel, Oghenekaro Etebor, Taiwo Awoniyi, Azubuike Okechukwu, Erhun Obanor and Godwin Saviour, with new faces Umar Aminu and Musa Yahaya making the cut.

Addressing the players, Siasia urged those who did not make the 18 -man list not to feel bad, but to see it as a challenge to up their game and make future lists. He told those who were selected to see their selection as a privilege and should show to the world that they were selected on merit.

Dream Team VI Have Already Secured their Ticket for the 11th All-Africa  Games. Image: LMC.
Dream Team VI Have Already Secured their Ticket for the 11th All-Africa Games. Image: LMC.

“I want to charge those of you selected to see this as a rare privilege knowing that millions of Nigerians are banking on you to put smiles on their faces come Sunday. I have the confidence that you guys can beat Congo, but all that will depend on you guys showing that on the field of play. The Nigeria Football Federation and the Rivers State government have done so much for us to make us win, so it’s now left for us to let them know that we are true ambassadors of our country.”

The final list is made up of two goalkeepers, six defenders, three midfielders and seven strikers:

Full List

Daniel Emmanuel
Chukwuebuka Iroha
Stanley Amuzie
Azubuike Okechukwu
Segun Oduduwa
Obanor Erhun
Godwin Saviour
Etebor Oghenekaro
Junior Ajayi
Usman Mohammed
Etor Daniel
Yusuf Mohammed
Sadiq Atanda
Chima Akas
Austin Oladapo
Taiwo Awoniyi
Aminu Umar
Musa Yahaya


- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -