DSS Arrests 21 Commanders, Frontline Members Of Boko Haram Responsible For Suicide Attacks

sss-officials-nigeria-402x300The war against insurgency has recorded a major success with the arrest of 21 alleged commanders and frontline members of the Boko Haram sect in different parts of the country.

The Department of State Services, which released the identities of the terrorists, said the successful arrest is a result of the services’ “re-strategised measures to combat the insurgency menace”.

In a statement signed by Mr Tony Opuiyo, the suspects are said to have been arrested in Lagos, Kano, Plateau, Enugu and Gombe States between July 8 and August 25, 2015.

“They include those allegedly responsible for the coordination and execution of the suicide attacks in Potiskum, Kano, Zaria and Jos who were arrested on July 8 in Gombe State”, the statement said.

It listed the suspects to include “Usman Shuaibu a.k.a money, said to be the co-ordinator of the suicide attacks, Ahmed Mohammed also known as Abubakar, an Improvised Explosives Device (IED) expert, who is said to have prepared the IEDs for the attacks.

“Others are Adamu Abdullahi, Ibrahim Isa, who allegedly carried out reconnaissance on targets in the Jos attacks, and Mutaqqa Yusuf, who is said to have assisted Usman Shuaibu in planning and executing the attacks”.

The DSS added that “Shaibu and his group were intercepted on their way to Bauchi State, where they had planned to execute another bomb attack, saying their arrest has stemmed the spate of bombings by the sect”.

12 other suspects are said to have been arrested in Lagos State, while three were caught in Enugu, Gombe and Kano States.

According to the DSS, Boko Haram terrorist group has been forced into a new pattern of movement owing to the pressure being put on them in their core areas of strength in the north-east.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here