Mass Exodus Hits Bayelsa PDP As Ex-NDDC Boss, Timi Alaibe, Ex-Senator Lead Others To APC

PDP-Members-Defect-To-APCA mass exodus is set to hit the Peoples Democratic Party in Bayelsa State this Saturday as no fewer than 70 political heavyweights and over 500 of their supporters are set to defect to the All Progressives Congress.
This is coming barely three months to the governorship election in the state slated for December 5.
In a list obtained from the arrowhead of the defection, Chief Alex Ekiotenne, who is a former Honorary Adviser to Governor Seriake Dickson, on Sunday, a former Managing Director, Niger Delta Development Commission and ex-Special Adviser to President Umaru Yar’Adua, Chief Ndutimi Alaibe; Senator Heineken Lokpobiri; ex-former Acting Governors Nestor Binabo and Werinipre Seibarugu, are leading the mass defection to the APC.
Others are former Deputy Governor of Bayelsa during Timipre Sylva regime, Peremobowei Ebebi; Senator John Brambaifa, Senator Clever Ikisipo, Ambassador Emmanuel Otiotio, a former House of Representatives member, Dr. Stella Dorgu; a former NDDC chairman, Prof. Tarila Tebepah; and Rear Admiral FBI Porbeni (retd.).
Also, former Reps members – Christopher Enai, Warman Ogoriba, Bonus Indiamaowei, Nelson Belief, Nadu Karibo, former Secretary to the State Government, Chief Gideon Ekeowe; and former Deputy Speaker, Fini Angaye, will jump into the APC ship on Saturday.
Ekiotenne added that former commissioners in the state, such as Lionel Jonathan-Omo, Chief Alex Ekiotenne (himself), Charity Vedalago, Sylvanus Abila, Chief Abeke Ebikake, Chief Diekivie Ikiogha, Godknows Powell, Capt. Matthew Karim (retd.), Chief Nathan Egba, Topido Amananagha, Ebitimi Amgbaye, Frank Oputu, were among the defectors.
Ekiotenne said the defectors would formally declare for the APC at a mega rally on Saturday in the state.
Furthermore, the defectors would be received by Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo; National Chairman, APC, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun; five governors of the APC, former Governor Timipre Sylva and top stalwarts of the party, including Chairman of the party in the state, Chief Tiwei Orunimighe.
This news will come as a blow to the PDP, which has been struggling recently to bring its aggrieved members in the state together ahead of the all-important governorship poll in December.
When contacted, Alaibe and former Acting Governor, Binabo, confirmed they were leaving for the APC.
Alaibe said he had made up his mind on dumping the PDP, vowing that nothing would stop his defection.
“I am leaving for the APC and will formally declare for the party at the mega rally on Saturday”, the ex-NDDC managing director said.
Binabo, on his part, confirmed that he was leaving but said he could only speak for himself. “I am leaving the PDP; that is all. I can’t speak for any other person”.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here