State Govt. Disburse N7.5m To Jigawa Flood Victims

file photo
file photo

The Jigawa State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) said it had disbursed N7.48 million to victims of flood disaster in the state.

According to Alhaji Yusif Sani, SEMA Executive Secretary, the money was distributed to 551 people whose houses or farmlands were destroyed by the flood in six local government areas of the state.

He listed the affected local government areas as Birnin Kudu, Dutse, Gwiwa, Guri, Ringim and Kazaure. According to statistics available to the agency, over 35,000 houses and 23,000 farmlands were destroyed by flood across the state.

The executive secretary said the assistance was given to 54 victims from Babaldu village in Birnin Kudu Local Government Area; 93 from Warwade in Dutse Local Government Area; and 36 from Malamawa village in Gwiwa Local Government Area.

Others were, 249 victims from Musari village in Guri Local Government Area; 25 from Dabi, 33 from Dubun and 19 from Almajirawa, all in Ringim Local Government Area; and 42 from Katogi in Kazaure Local Government Area.

Sani disclosed that each of the beneficiaries was given 30 percent of what he lost, depending on the number of farms, rooms or property destroyed by the flood.

He added that the agency had set up committees in its seven zonal offices to assess the level of damage caused by flood in all the 27 local government areas of the state.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here