Sylva Wins Controversial Bayelsa APC Governorship Primary


A former governor of Bayelsa State, Timipre Sylva, has been declared winner of the governorship primary election of the All Progressives Congress in the state.

The primaries was reportedly characterised by confusion, controversy and alleged hijack of the electoral process from the Edo State Governor and Chairman of the seven-member Committee appointed to conduct the election, Adams Oshiomhole.

Sylva won a parallel exercise organised by the state executive of the APC without Oshiomhole and some members of his committee with 726 of the 807 votes cast.

He was returned as winner by Mr. Nelson Alakgba, a member of the primary committee.

Timi Alaibe, who was not present scored four votes.

A total of 1,502 delegates were expected at the primary election while there were 19 aspirants.

Mr. Oshiomhole was however rescued and taken out of the venue by armed military personnel at about 4.50p.m. when the situation became unbearable.

More details …


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here