Buhari Seeks Senate’s Confirmation Of New INEC Chairman, Commissioners

Buhari-SarakiThe Senate on Thursday received a letter from President Muhammadu Buhari, seeking confirmation of the appointment of Chairman and Commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

In the letter, the President requested the Senate to confirm Prof. Mahmud Yakubu as chairman of the commission, Mrs Amina Zakari, Dr Anthonia Okosi, Mr Baba Shettima, Dr Muhammadu Lekki, and Mr Soyebi Solomon as commissioners.

Meanwhile, the Senate has also received two fresh petitions, challenging the nomination of Aisha Ibrahim from Sokoto State.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the Senate Committee of Ethics and Privileges had earlier thrown out a petition against her “for improper address”.

The committee had said that the petition was addressed to President Muhammadu Buhari and not the Senate President, as such, it would be improper to act on it.

The new petitions brings to five, the number of nominees, who have been petitioned.