Council Of State Confirms Yakubu As Substantive INEC Chairman, Makes Zakari Commissioner Again

The Council of State has approved the appointment of Prof. Mahmud Yakubu, as the substantive Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to replace Mrs Amina Bala Zakari who has been Acting Chairman of the commission following the conclusion of the term of Office of the former chairman, Prof. Attahiru Jega.

The Council also approved the appointment of five new national commissioners for INEC, including Zakari who was first appointed as commissioner in 2011 by then President Goodluck Jonathan. Her appointment as the acting chairman of INEC was highly criticized by many due to allegations of being related to President Muhammadu Buhari.

Other commissioners appointed are:

Anthonia Okoosi-Simbine – North Central
Baba Shettima Arfo – North East
Mohammed Mustafa Lecky – South South
Soyebi Adedeji Solomon – South West


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here