Ikpeazu Submits List Of 20 Commissioner-Nominees To State Assembly

Okezie IkpeazuGovernor Okezie Ikpeazu of Abia State has submitted a list of 20 commissioner-nominees to the state House of Assembly for approval.

The Speaker, Chief Martins Azubuike, read out the names on list on the floor of the House on Friday.

He said that the House had received a letter from the governor requesting the screening of the nominees.

The list includes a former National President of the Nigeria Union of Journalists, Mr Bonny Iwuoha and two former members of the House of Representatives, Mr Eziuche Ubani and Uzo Azubuike.

Others are as an industrialist, Chief Henry Ikoh; a former Commissioner for Environment, Chief Chinwe Nwanganga; a former Majority Leader of the house, Mr Osita Igbe and a legal practitioner, Mr Haglar Okorie.

The list also includes the immediate past Deputy Chief of Staff, Chief Charles Ogbonnaya; PDP’s Legal Adviser, Mr Gab Igboko, and the governor’s Special Adviser on Economic Affairs, Mr Obinna Oriaku.

The PDP’s Treasurer, Mr Tony Ezebuiro; Prof. Ikedi Mgbeoji, Chief Stanley Eche, Chief Chima Mgbeke, a legal practitioner, Mr Uche Ihediwa and Mr Ebo Iheukwume are also among the nominees.

Two women, who made the list, are a former Chairman, Ohafia Local Government Area, Mrs Nnenna Obewu, and a former Commissioner for Women Affairs, Mrs Chinedum Brown.

The Speaker announced a five-member ad-hoc committee, headed by the Majority Leader, Chief Cosmos Ndukwe, to handle a pre-screening exercise.

The committee was mandated to avail the House of 35 photocopies of the credentials of each of the nominees on Oct. 19 for the commencement of their screening. (NAN)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here