Jibrin Lands Appropriation C’ttee Chair Position As Dogara Unveils House Committees Chairmen, Deputies

Yakubu DogaraThe long-awaited list of 96 chairmen of the House standing committees and their deputies were unveiled on Thursday by Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon. Yakubu Dogara, at plenary.

While 48 members of the majority All Progressives Congress (APC) were picked as chairmen, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) got 46.

One member each from the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) also got committee chairmanship positions.

The Niger Delta committee is, however, yet to get a chairman.

For the deputy chairmanship positions, APC got 54, while PDP had 38.

Two members from APGA were also picked as deputy chairmen of House committees.

As Dogara reeled out the names of the committee chairmen and their deputies, a pin drop silence enveloped the House chamber.

While Hon. Abdulmumin Jibrin, a staunch supporter of Dogara’s emergence as Speaker was named the Chairman of the House Committee on Appropriations, Hon. Nnena Elendu-Ukeje, got the Committee on Foreign Affairs.

Others are – James Faleke (Customs and Excise),  Rita Orji (Diaspora),  Adeyinka Ajayi (Aids, Loans and Debt Management) ), Nkiruka Onyejeocha (Aviation), Linus Okorie (Agricultural Colleges and Institutions), Betty Apiafi (Health Institutions), Tobi Okechukwu (Works) and Herman Hembe (FCT).

Details later…


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here