Senate Confirms Fashola, Lai Mohammed, 16 Others As Ministers

SenateThe Senate on Wednesday confirmed immediate past Governor of Lagos State, Babatunde Fashola; his Ekiti State counterpart, Dr. Kayode Fayemi; the National Publicity Secretary of the All Progressive Congress, Alhaji Lai Mohammed and 15 others as Ministers of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Also confirmed as ministers are – Dr. Chris Ngige, the Group Managing Director of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), Dr. Ibe Kachikwu; Abubakar Malami (SAN), Senator Aisha Alhassan, Barr. Solomon Dalong, Mrs. Kemi Adeosun, Senator Hadi Sirika, Chief Audu Ogbeh and Senator Udoma Udo Udoma.

Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu; Dr. Osagie Ehanire, Lt. Gen Abdulrahman Danbazzau (retd), Mrs. Amina Mohammed, Suleiman Adamu and Ibrahim Jubrin completed the list.

They were confirmed shortly after Wednesday’s screening of Fashola and seven other ministerial nominees.

Screened alongside the ex-Lagos State governor on day two are – Ngige, Kachikwu,Malami, Alhassan, Dalong, Adeosun and Sirika.

Two ministerial nominees – ex-Rivers State governor, Rotimi Amaechi and Barr. Adebayo Shittu were not screened on Wednesday.

Amaechi’s screening deferred following the inability of the Senate Committee on Ethics and Privileges and Public Petitions to submit its report on a petition filed against the ex-Rivers governor.

Chairman of the committee, Senator Samuel Anyanwu, told the Senate that the report of the petition against Amaechi’s nomination as minister was not ready.

The Senate, however, gave no reason for the postponement of Shittu’s screening.

Senate President Bukola Saraki, who presided over the screening exercise, asked senators to subject the new ministers’ confirmation to voice vote.

The senators in turn voted overwhelmingly for the nominees’ confirmation.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here