Gbajabiamila’s Loyalists Resign House Committees Membership


The loyalists of Femi Gbajabiamila in the House of Representatives have resigned their membership of the 96 new standing committees of the House of Representatives inaugurated on Monday, Per Second News has reported.

The group had claimed that Speaker Yakubu Dogara allowed the House members belonging to opposition party People’s Democratic Party (PDP) to take control of sensitive House committees by sharing leadership of the committees equally between the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) and the PDP.

The group accused Speaker Yakubu Dogara of mortgaging the interest of the APC to the PDP and of being in tune with the opposition party’s plan to derail the change mantra that brought the APC to power.

A loyalist of the Gbajabiamila group who spoke to Per Second News on the condition of anonymity said that they were asked to resign. “Personally, I believe the Dogara, Lasun led House of Representatives has hit the ground running but who am I to go against the party?”

As the momentum gathered Monday, the two formidable camps are fighting with whatever weapon available in their arsenals with little or no information whether damaging or inspiring spared in a bid to undo one another.

Gbajabiamila suffered a fresh blow Monday after seeing his rating slump to a record low for a new majority leader following this week’s tumultuous events, with over 190 members pledging support for the Dogara led leadership.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here