UNILORIN Awards Scholarship To 246 Students

Unilorin VC Prof. Abdul-Ganiyu Ambali
Unilorin VC Prof. Abdul-Ganiyu Ambali

The Senate of the University of Ilorin has awarded scholarships to 246 students during the 2014/2015 academic session in recognition of their brilliant academic performances at their various levels across all faculties of the University.

According to the University Bulletin issued on Wednesday in Ilorin, the breakdown of the awards is contained in the just published University of Ilorin 2014/2015 Annual Report.

It stated that the scholarships were awarded to 12 students of the Faculty of Agriculture, 32 students of the Faculty of Arts, 14 from the Faculty of Basic Medical Science and six from the Faculty of Clinical Science.

It said that 16 were from the Faculty of Communication and Information Sciences, 37 from the Faculty of Education and 36 students from the Faculty of Engineering and Technology.

Further breakdown showed that one student from the Faculty of Environmental Sciences, 13 students from the Faculty of Law, 16 from the Faculty of Life Sciences, 12 from the Faculty of Management Sciences and six from the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, among others.

Vice-Chancellor, Prof. AbdulGaniyu Ambali noted, according to the Bulletin, that the scholarship award was “basically to reward hard work and to serve as morale booster for the recipients while it will further motivate and encourage other students to strive hard to attain that great height.”

He commended the University scholars and advised other students to attach seriousness to their studies for them to be recipients of the award in the 2015/2016 academic session.