Niger APC Suspends Senators, Six Reps Members


The Niger State chapter of All Progressives Congress (APC) has suspended all but four of its members in the National Assembly over their alleged failure to pay dues to the party.

The suspension was announced by the state secretary of the party, Barrister Mohammed Liman, on Tuesday.

According to Liman, the suspension order affected three senators and six members of the House of Representatives.
He said only four out of the 13 federal legislators from the state have been paying dues.

“The constitution of our party is very clear on it, it says any member or political appointee that came into being through the platform of our party and fails to pay his dues is technically not a member of the party.

“The constitution says you must pay your dues as and when due. This means technically they have suspended themselves”, he said.

‎The Niger APC scribe further said “‎Those we elected did not deem it fit to support the party financially, and how do they want the part to move on?

“They have deliberately refused to pay their dues, they stand suspended technically. ‎It is only four House of Representatives members and all State Assembly members that have complied”.

Those suspended are: ‎Senators Mustapha Sani Mohammed (Zone A), David Umaru (Zone B), and Aliyu Abdullahi Sabi (Zone C).

Members of the Federal House of Representatives affected include Hon. Mohammad Mahmood of Lapai/Agaie federal constituency‎ and Muhammed Bala Faruk of Bida/Gbako/Kacha constituency.

Others are Ahmed Abu representing Lavun/Edati/Mokwa constituency, Shehu Sule representing Magama/Rijau constituency, Salihu Adamu Shadafi of Bosso/Paikoro Constituency and Abubakar Lado Abdullahi of Suleja/Tafa/Gurara constituency.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here