Rivers Rerun Result: PDP Wins 1 Federal, 8 State Seats

Nyesom Wike

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the results of one federal constituency and nine state assembly seats in Saturday`s re-run legislative elections in Rivers.

The result signed by the Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) in the state, Aniedi Ikoiwak, showed that the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won the only House of Representatives seat of Abua/Odual/Ahoada East constituency.

Betty Apiafi of the PDP polled 19,188 votes to beat Ewor Robinson of APC who scored 6468 to win the House of Representatives poll.

The result also showed that the party won eight of the nine state assembly seats while the All Progressives Congress (APC) won one seat.

The state assembly result showed that Martins Manah of the PDP scored 6,654 votes to win Ahoada East 1 seat as against 2,077 votes polled by Apia Chinedu of the APC.

Ehie Edison of the PDP recorded 3,417 votes to beat Ibiso Nwobuiyeuma of APC with 1,429 to win Ahoada East 11 seat; Jack Major of PDP got 11,624 votes to defeat Ineye Jack of APC with 810 votes for Akuku-Toru constituency 1.

Emohua constituency was won by Samuel Ogeh of PDP, who polled 13,621votes to beat Chidi Lloyd of APC with 5,413 votes.

For Ogba/Egbema/Ndoni constituency, Christian Ahiakwo of PDP won with 7,256 votes at the expense of APC’s Gift Wokocha who polled 1,845 votes.

Kelechi Nwogu of PDP polled 5,568 votes to beat Anyanwu Leo of APC with 3,241 votes to win Omuma constituency.

The statement said Martin Amaewhule of PDP had 9,703 votes to beat Collins Ordu of APC with 4,078 votes for Obio/Akpor constituency 1 seat.

In Obio/Akpor constituency 11, INEC said Michael Chinda of PDP won the seat but did not indicate the votes cast.

It said that the only seat won by the APC so far was Opobo/Nkoro constituency where Andrew Miller polled 9,546 votes to beat Diri Adonye of PDP with 3,465 votes.

The re-run election was conducted in 22 of the 32 state constituencies; 12 of the 13 House of Representatives seats and the three senatorial seats in the state.

Mr. Ikoiwak said the commission suspended further announcement of results to conduct audit of materials and personnel used for the elections.

He also said that no date has been fixed for repeat of the poll in the eight local government areas where it cancelled the exercise due to violence and irregularities.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here