Standing Ovation As Saraki Swears Mark In

Must Read

Governors In Nigeria Are Parasites: Babachir Lawal

Babachir Lawal, former secretary to the government of the federation (SGF), says if it was up to him, Nigeria...

Why Buhari Can’t Fire Service Chiefs Now: Boss Mustapha

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Mustapha has explained why President Muhammadu Buhari can't fire...

If Any Chelsea Fan Is Angry At You, It’s Because They Lose To Man Utd: Uche Jombo

Nollywood actress and a proud Manchester United fan, Uche Jombo has stated that her fans shouldn't get angry if...

Amaechi Loses Chief Security Officer

This is definitely not the best of times for the minister for transportation, Rotimi Amaechi as he has lost...

Illiteracy In North Threat To Peace: Emir Of Ķano

Muhammadu Sanusi II, the Emir of Kano has called on leaders in the North to change the education narrative...
Ardent Reader, News Freak, Socio-Political Commentator, Archaeologist & Pro-Democrat.

Saraki- MarkFormer Senate President David Mark on Wednesday received a standing ovation from all his colleagues with the exception of Senators Shehu Sani (APC, Kaduna central) and Isiaka Adeleke (APC, Osun West), who remained seated, following his swearing-in by his successor, Bukola Saraki.

Mark, who is the longest serving senator having won election into the red chamber to represent the people of Benue South senatorial district since 1999, was in December 2015 sacked by the Court of Appeal sitting in Makurdi, the Benue State capital, which also ordered a re-run election.

However at the rerun poll, which held penultimate Saturday, the former Senate president again floored his All Progressives Congress rival, Daniel Onjeh, who has vowed to contest the outcome of the election.

According to Onjeh, the poll ought to have been declared inconclusive by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, because the margin between him and Mr. Mark (12,571) was lower than the number of canceled votes (29,273).

Mark, who also holds the record as Nigeria’s longest serving Senate president yet (2007-2015), received a warm reception from PDP senators, all of whom rose to their feet to welcome him before the APC senators, including Saraki, followed suit. But Sani and Adeleke remained on their seats.

Soon, the chatting of the “the youngest and most ranking Senator” filled the air as Mark went round to shake the hands of his colleagues immediately after he was sworn in.

He, however, hugged Senator Barnabas Gemade (APC, Benue North-east).

Afterwards, Mark went straight to his former seat situated at the last row of the section of the PDP.

Also sworn in was Ahmed Salawu for Kogi Central. Salawu replaced APC’s Abdulsalami Ohiare.

- Advertisement -
Ad ==> TRUTH FINALLY OUT! Discover how a young Nigerian graduate now makes a consistent 40k per week doing a legitimate online business. You too can start yours now, click here!!!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -