FCT Area Council Rerun Poll: APC Sweeps Abaji, AMAC, Kuje As APGA Takes Gwagwalada

APC-Logo1The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has declared the All Progressives Congress, APC, winner of five out of six area councils of the Federal Capital Territory, FCT, with the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, winning the remaining one.
This followed the conclusion of supplementary poll held on Wednesday in four area councils where the electoral umpire had earlier declared the April 9 exercise inconclusive.
The Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, which had controlled five of the area councils before the recent elections, was the biggest loser as not only did it fail to win any of the chairmanship seats, three of its candidates, who were incumbents and seeking re-election, could not retain their seats.
The INEC returning officer in Gwagwalada, Dr. Adamu Tanimu, who declared APGA’s Adamu Mustapha as winner of the election in the area council, said he scored a total of 15,950 after conclusion of supplementary polls in two polling units in Ibwa ward to defeat the incumbent, Abubakar Jibrin Giri of the APC, who polled 14,569 votes
The incumbent chairman of Abaji Area Council, Alhaji Yahaya Garba Gawu of the PDP, also lost to Alhaji Abdulrahman Ajiya of the APC.
Ajiya was declared winner of the rerun council election having polled a total of 13, 515 votes against Gawu, who scored 10, 633 votes.
Similarly, the APC candidate in Kuje Area Council, Alhaji Abdullahi D. Galadima, was declared winner after he polled 15,175 votes to defeat the incumbent, Mr. Shaban Ishaku Tete of the PDP, who scored 13,650 votes.
Also, Abdullahi Adamu Candido of the APC was declared winner of the Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC) rerun election.
Candido polled 27,482 votes to beat Bitrus Kura Tanko of the PDP, who polled 21,965.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here