INEC Declares APC Winner Of Yobe Federal Constituency By-Election

APC-Logo1The All Progressives Congress, APC, has been declared winner of the Damaturu/Tarmuwa/Gujba/Gulani federal constituency by-election in Yobe State.
The by-election held on Saturday across four local government areas that make up the constituency, saw the APC’s Abdullahi Kukuwa trouncing his Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, opponent, Nasiru Hassan by 23,745 votes to 6,990 votes.
The Returning Officer of the election, Sunday Alao, declared the result on Saturday in Damaturu, the State capital.
According to Alao, Adamu Dina of the Advance Congress for Democracy, ACD, scored 163 votes while Jibrin Ladan of the National Conscience Party, NCP, scored 139 votes.
Our correspondent reports that the by-election was occasioned by the appointment of the former member representing the constituency, Hajiya Khadija Bukar Abba Ibrahim as Minister by President Muhammadu Buhari.
The State Police Commissioner, Zannah Ibrahim, commended voters for conducting themselves in a peaceful and orderly manner just as he confirmed that there was no record of violence during the exercise.
Meanwhile, the INEC is set to conduct another by-election in the state as Mr. Kukuwa currently represents Gulani constituency in the state assembly, a position he will vacate once he is sworn in as a federal lawmaker.