Edo 2016: INEC Releases List Of Political Parties, Candidates

inec_hqThe Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Monday in Benin, released a list of 19 political parties that would participate in the Sept. 10 governorship election in Edo State.

The list signed by INEC’s Head of Legal Services, Mathew Ugwuocha, also contained the names of candidates being fielded by the parties.

The list contains 19 male governorship candidates, 15 male running mates and four female running mates.

Expectedly, the commission did not recognize the candidate that emerged as the flag bearer of the Ali Modu Sheriff faction of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Matthew Iduoriyekemwen.

The governorship candidates with female running mates are Thompson Osadolor, KOWA; Adviser Nowamagbe, UPP; Ishaka Ofemile, AA and Ukonga Frank, NNPP.

The running mates are Nancy Ewemade, AA; Florence Okundaye, KOWA; Okosun Davis, UPP and Emodogo Eweha, NNPP.

Other governorship candidates include Osagie Ize-Iyamu, PDP, with John Yakubu as running mate and Godwin Obaseki, APC, with Philip Shaibu, a member of the House of Representatives, as running mate.