Kuje Prison Break: FG Approves Suspension Of 14 Prisons Personnel

Controller-General of Prisons-Ja'afaru AhmedThe Federal government has approved the suspension of 14 Nigeria Prisons Service (NPS) officials in the wake of the escape of two high profile detainees – Solomon Amodu and Maxwell Ajukwu – who are both standing trial for culpable homicide, from the Kuje Medium Security Prison last month.

The suspension of the officials was contained in a statement issued Monday by Public Relations Officer (PRO) of the NPS, Deputy Controller of Prisons (DCP) Francis Enobore.

According to the statement, the Civil Defence, Fire, Immigration and Prisons Services Board (CDFIPB) approved the suspension of 4 senior officers while the Controller-General of Prisons, Ja’afaru Ahmed in his capacity, approved the suspension of the 10 junior staff of the prison.

SEE ALSO: Heads To Roll Over Kuje Prison Jailbreak

The names of the affected officers and men are: Officer-in-Charge; DCP Musa Tanko, SIP Buhari Musa Dogo, PIP Stephen Edogbanya J., PIP Patrick Teru, IP  Usman Peter, IP Dennis B. Makum and IP Fassan  S. Akin.

Others are: SPA Daka James, SPA Adamu Luka, SPA Zakari Yunasa, PA Asnamal Samuel, PA Ejegwa Patrick, PA 11 Isah Ibrahim and PA 11 Ngede Salifu.

Enobore noted that the suspension is sequel to the outcome of the preliminary investigation into the incident and in consonance with PSR 030406 (2008) Revised Version, adding that the step was necessary to allow for unhindered trial process.

“The commissioned officers among them are to be served with letters of query while the junior staff will be given Form 96 (Charge Sheet) to explain their role in the unfortunate saga”, the NPS spokesman disclosed.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here