FG Sacks Jamb Registrar, 16 Others

President Muhammadu Buhari-official-portrait

The Federal Government on Monday relieved 16 heads of key agencies in the Ministry of Education their appointments including the Joint Admissions and Matriculations Board (JAMB), registrar, Prof. Dibu Ojerinde.

This is contained in a statement released in Abuja by the Deputy Director of Press and Public Relations in the Education Ministry, Mr. Ben Bem Goong.

The statement also pointed out that four Chief Executives whose tenures were yet to elapse were retained. However, the affected positions had been replaced with immediate effect.

“The President has approved the appointment of 17 new Chief Executives of Parastatals and Agencies under the Federal Ministry of Education with effect from Monday, August 01, 2016.

“The new 17 new appointees are: National Universities Commission (NUC) – Prof. Abubakar Adamu Rasheed, Nigerian Institute for Education Planning and Administration – Prof, Mrs. Lilian Salami, Universal Basic Education Commission – Dr. Hameed Bobboyi,National library of Nigeria – Prof Lanre Aina, National Examinations Council – Prof Charles Uwakwe, National Commission for Mass Literacy, Adult and Non-Formal education – Prof Abba Haladu, Nomadic Education Commission – Prof Bashir Usman, National Business and technical Examinations Board – Prof Isioma Isiugo-Abanihe, Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria – Prof Sunday Josiah Ajiboye, Computer Registration Council of Nigeria – Afolabi Aderinto, National Commission for Colleges of Education – Prof Bappah Aliyu, Tertiary Education Trust Fund – Dr. Abdullahi Bichi Baffa, National Teachers Institute – Prof Garba Dahuwa Azare, Librarian Registration Council of Nigeria(LRCN)- Prof Michael Afolabi, National Mathematical Centre – Prof Steven Ejugwu Onah, Joint Admission and Matriculation Board, JAMB – Prof Ishaq Oloyede, National Institute of Nigerian Languages – Prof Chinyere Ohiri-Aniche.

“The 17 new CEOs are invited to a meeting with the Minister on Tuesday (today) in Abuja,” the statement added.

Meanwhile, those retained include the Nigeria Educational Research and Development Council, Prof. Samaila Junaidu; Nigerian French Language C\Village, Prof Rauf Adebisi; National Board for Technical Education, Dr. Mas’ud Kazaure and National Arabic Language Village, Prof. Muhammad Mu’az.