INEC Declares APC Winner Of Yobe Bye-Election

apc-logoIndependent National Electoral Commission, INEC, on Sunday declared Zannah Bunu, the All Progressives Congress, APC, candidate winner of the Gulani state constituency bye-election in Yobe State.

This is contained in a statement issued by Bagudu Nma, Information Officer of the commission in Damaturu, the state capital.

The electoral umpire had conducted the bye-election into the seat on Saturday following the election of its former occupier, Abdu Kukuwa, to the House of Representatives to replace Hajiya Khadija Abba Ibrahim, who was appointed minister in the federal cabinet

According to Nma, Mr. Bunu polled 6,488 votes to beat Isa Babayaro of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who scored 1,623 votes.

With his victory, the APC further solidified its lead in the Yobe House of Assembly with 24 members against the PDP’s one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *