Labour Party Wins Oyo House Of Assembly Bye-Election

Must Read

NAFDAC: Nigeria At Risk Of Coronavirus… We Import Almost Everything Except Water

The National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC), has stated that Nigeria is at a very...

Fr. Mbaka Denies Viral Prophecy On Bayelsa Guber election

The spiritual director of the Adoration Ministry Enugu Nigeria, Rev. Fr. Ejike Mbaka has come out debunk rumours of...

Protesters Demands Resignation Of Oshiomhole As Party Chairman (Photos)

Protesters on Monday demanded the resignation of Comrade Adams Oshiomhole as the National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress...

Buhari Not Travelling Abroad For 20 Days: Presidency

  The presidency has dismissed claims that President Muhammadu By had I would travel to the United Kingdom and some foreign...

Over 20m Nigerians Have Kidney Disease: Medical Expert

The Nigerian Association of Nephrology (NAN) says 20 million Nigerians have kidney disease while advocating for early detection of the...

A former caretaker committee chairman of Oorelope Local Government and standard-bearer of the Labour Party, Mr Lukman Balogun, has been declared the winner of the bye-election held on Saturday to fill the vacant Oorelope constituency seat in the Oyo State House of Assembly.

The seat became vacant following the murder of Honourable Gideon Aremu, who represented the constituency on the ticket of the Labour Party.

The Labour Party’s candidate polled 6,122 votes, winning in eight of the 10 wards in the local government, to defeat his closest contender, Mr Jimoh Gbadamosi of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who had 4,148 while the Accord Party’s candidate, Mr Solomon Olabisi came third with 2,123. The APC won in the remaining two wards.

Following the declaration of the results at the office of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), the Labour Party’s candidate said he could only express appreciation to God and the people of the local government, noting that God had chosen to test his party and had made them to succeed.

“The surprising thing in this election is that we defeated them with 1,996 during the poll that returned the late Honourable Aremu and today, we have posted a similar margin with 1,974. It shows that the people believe in us and we will not let them down,” Balogun said.

- Advertisement -
Ad ==> TRUTH FINALLY OUT! Discover how a young Nigerian graduate now makes a consistent 40k per week doing a legitimate online business. You too can start yours now, click here!!!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -