Oyo State Gov Approves Creation Of New 35 LCDAs

Must Read

NECO Dismisses 19 Workers Over Certificate Forgery

The National Examinations Council (NECO) has dismissed 19 of its workers for forging their certificates.Their dismissal was approved by...

Metuh’s Lawyer Blows Hot, Vows To Appeal ‘Bad Judgement’ (Video)

Following the court ruling that sent Olisa Metuh, the former spokesman to the People's Democratic Party, to a 39-year...

Deontay Wilder Suspended For Six Weeks After Tyson Fury Defeat

American heavyweight boxer, Deontay Wilder has incurred six weeks of medical suspension following his brutal defeat to Tyson Fury.The...

Umahi Storms Army Headquarters, Demands For Reduced Road Blocks On S/East Roads

Ebonyi state governor, Dave Umahi has stormed the headquarters of the Nigerian Army where he met with the chief...

IGP Orders Investigation Of Tiamiyu Kazeem’s Death

The media space has been abuzz in the last 24 hours, following the tragic death of a footballer, Tiamiyu...

Abiola Ajimobi

The Governor of Oyo State, Sen Abiola Ajimobi has approved the creation of 35 new Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs), in order to ensure development reaches all the grass roots.

This follows a motion entitled: “Need to establish Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs), for effective grassroots development”, brought before the house of ass‎embly on June 16, 2016, where the Lawmakers urged the state government to take proactive measures to establish LCDA’S to ensure that development get to every community in the state.

Disclosing the information to newsmen in the state capital on Tuesday, the Chief of Staff to the Governor, ‎Dr Gbade Ojo, said the approval will give more legal teeth to Oyo State Gazette No. 23, Vol 27 of August 13, 2002, which created the 35 LCDA’S but with a nomenclature of Local Government Areas.

Ojo who said the 35 new LCDA’S will be distributed zonally in line with both political and administrative zones of the state, listed the breakdown of the new LCDA’S as follows: Ibadan Zone 14, Ibarapa zone 2, Oyo zone 4, Ogbomoso 7, Oke-Ogun 8.

He said the governor had directed the State Commissioner of Justice to prepare enabling laws as Executive Bill to be presented to the state house of assembly so that the new LCDAs can take off.

“Between 2002 till date there has been explosion in the demography of each council area to the extent that what was gazetted in 2002 may not be sufficiently representative of the new yearning of our people.

“Thus, any council area that needs ‎more may begin to work on memorandum to justify their demands as in no distant future,” he explained.

- Advertisement -
Ad ==> Discover how a young Nigerian graduate now makes a consistent 40k per week doing a legitimate online business. You too can start yours now, click here!!!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -