Buhari Forwards Names Of Six INEC, Five NPC Commissioner-Nominees To Senate

PRESIDENT MUHAMMADU BUHARIPresident Muhammadu Buhari Thursday sent names of six proposed commissioners for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to the Senate for consideration and confirmation in line with extant laws.

He also forwarded five names of proposed commissioners for the National Population Commission (NPC).

The president, in a letter read by Senate President Bukola Saraki on the floor of the Senate yesterday, said he was transmitting the list of names in compliance with the provision of Section 154(1) of the 1999 Constitution (as amended).

President Buhari said that the appointees were made from the six geo-political zones of the country.

Those nominated as commissioners for INEC included, Prof. Okechukwu Obinna Ibeanu Anambra (member) (South East), May I. Agbamuche-Mbu (Delta) (member) South South, AVM Ahmed Tijani Mu’azu (rtd) (Gombe) member (North East), Mohammed Kudu Haruna (Niger) North Central (member), Dr.Adekunle Ladipo Ogunmola (Oyo) South West, (member) and Abubakar Ahmed Nahuche (Zamfara) North West (member).

Those appointed to serve as commissioners of the NPC included Engr. Benedict Ukpong, (Akwa Ibom) member, Gloria Fataya Izonfuo (Bayelsa) member, Barrister Kupchi Patricia Ori Iyanya (Benue) member, Dr. Haliru Bala (Kebbi) member and Dr. Eyitayo O. Oyetunji (Oyo) member.

President Buhari asked the Senate for early consideration and confirmation of the appointments.