Edo Guber Results: Fight To Finish Between Obaseki, Ize-Iyamu

edo-obaseki-ize-iyamuThe governorship election in Edo State is proving to be a keenly fought contest between Godwin Obaseki of the All Progressives Congress, APC, and Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, official results so far announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, on Thursday, show.

With the results from nine out of 18 local governments already announced at the collation center in Benin, the state capital by INEC, APC’s Obaseki is leading with 142,424 votes, closely followed by Ize-Iyamu, with 136,808 votes.

The results announced before INEC called for a break till 12 noon showed that Obaseki carried the day in Owan West, Egor, Igueben, Uhunmwode and Oredo LGAs, while Ize-Iyamu won in Orhionmwon, Esan South East, Esan West and Esan North East LGAs.

A breakdown of the votes scored by each candidate in the aforementioned local government areas as officially announced by INEC are as follows:


LGA: Owan West

Number of registered voters: 54,406

Number of accredited voters: 24,487

APC: 12,862

PDP: 10,132

Total votes cast: 23,290

Rejected votes: 1,002

LGA: Esan North East

Number of registered voters: 74,293

Number of accredited voters: 27,121

APC: 9,130

PDP: 16,220

Total valid votes: 25,747

Rejected votes: 1,197

Three cancellations due to number of votes cast exceeding number of accredited voters.

LGA: Igueben

Number of registered voters: 42,655

Number of accredited voters: 16,482

APC: 7,802

PDP: 7,560

Total valid votes: 15,506

Rejected votes: 580

Two polling units cancelled.

LGA: Uhunmwode

Number of registered voters: 62,987

Number of accredited voters: 21,927

APC: 10,911

PDP: 8,667

Total valid votes: 19,971

Rejected votes: 1,759

The results of three polling units were canceled as a result of violence and discrepancy between the number of accredited voters and total votes cast.

LGA: Esan South East

Number of registered voters: 66,695

Number of accredited voters: 22,522

APC: 9,554

PDP: 11,466

Total valid votes: 21,250

Rejected votes: 806

LGA: Oredo

Number of registered voters: 273,614

Number of accredited voters: 74,076

APC: 37,612

PDP: 30,492

Total valid votes: 69,401

Rejected votes: 4,311

LGA: Egor

Number of registered voters: 184,296

Number of accredited voters: 49,802

APC: 26,177

PDP: 19,514

Total valid votes cast: 46,728

Rejected votes: 2,811

The result of one polling unit was cancelled due to non-usage of card reader.

LGA: Orhionmwon

Number of registered voters: 102,921

Number of accredited voters: 34,270

APC: 15,262

PDP: 16,446

Total valid votes cast: 32,213

Rejected votes: 1,788

LGA: Esan West

Number of registered voters: 87,867

Number of accredited voters: 31,866

APC: 13,114

PDP: 16,311

Total valid votes cast: 29,963

Rejected votes: 1,563




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here