New 28 Resident Permit Centres Commissioned by FG

Abdulrahman Dambazau

The Federal Government has commissioned 28 additional centres for the production of Combined Expatriate Residence Permit and Aliens Card.

The development is aimed at automating the operations of the Nigeria Immigration Service, for the issuance of residence permits to expatriates residing and working in the country.

The Minister of Interior, Lieutenant General Abdulrahman Dambazau (rtd) while commissioning the centres in Abuja on Monday said the new structure was aimed at easing the stress of doing business in Nigeria.

The centres are now in all states of the federation except Borno and Yobe states, which were exempted for logistics reasons with Rivers State having two centres.

The establishment comes as part of measures to revive the country’s depressed economy, following the fall in the price of crude oil and subsequent drop in production capacity.

The addition brings the number of residence permit centres to 37 across Nigeria.