Sheathe Your Swords, Support Akeredolu, Women Group Tells Aggrieved APC Aspirants

rotimi-akeredoluWith the dust raised by the governorship primary of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ondo State yet to settle, a group, Women for Positive Change, has pleaded for reconciliation among the aggrieved parties.

The APC governorship primaries, which held on September 3, 2016 was won by former National President of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) Chief Olurotimi Akeredolu.

However, four of the 24 aspirants that contested in the primaries, have challenged the process by submitting separate petitions to the Helen Bendega-led APC Appeal Panel Committee, which is almost rounding up its report.

Among those who submitted their petitions to the panel and calling for the cancellation of the primaries over alleged irregularities are Chief Olusola Oke, Senator Ajayi Boroffice, Segun Abraham and Akinwale Akingbade.

With the governorship elections coming up on November 26 and the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, gearing up to retain the governorship seat of Ondo, the women urged aggrieved APC aspirants not to allow acrimony deprive the party the opportunity to win the election.

The women urged the contestants to put their house in order to guarantee victory for the APC.

A statement, which was signed in Akure, the state capital by its coordinator and former Commissioner for Community Development, Mrs. Yetunde Adeyanju and secretary, Mrs. Morinsola Olanipekun, noted that peace fosters unity that will guarantee the drive to work for the victory.

The statement reads: “Let us sheath our swords and support Mr. Oluwarotimi Akeredolu (SAN) in the interest of the citizenry, who have been groaning under the maladministration of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

“We are convinced that Akeredolu’s emergence is a step towards emancipation of Ondo State women from poverty, which has characterized the present administration”.

The women group also pointed out that it would be regrettable if the APC stakeholders allow the PDP’s government to remain in office beyond February 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *