CAF Names Nominees For African Player Of The Year Award

Must Read

It’s Scary, No Screening Of Coronavirus At Our Airports: Senator

Ajayi Boroffice, deputy senate leader, has decried the lack of measures put in place to check any arrival of...

Court Nullifies Impeachment Of Ex-Kogi Deputy Speaker

A federal high court sitting in Lokoja has declared the removal of Simson Achuba as deputy governor of Kogi...

Suspected Case Of Coronavirus In Lagos Test Negative

The Lagos State Government has confirmed that a patient who underwent series of tests after being admitted in Reddington...

Coronavirus: Saudi Arabia Bans Pilgrims From Visiting Mecca Or Medina

Saudi Arabia has banned religious pilgrims from visiting Mecca or Medina to prevent the spread of coronavirus in the...

Fani-Kayode Kicks Against Recruitment Of Miyetti Allah As Amotekun Operatives

Former minister of aviation, Femi Fani-Kayode, has kicked against suggestions that members of the Myetti Allah Cattle Breeders Association...

Five players have been shortlisted for the Glo-CAF 2016 African Player of the Year Award by the African Football Confederation (CAF).

The players were named in a statement by the football governing body on its website,

They are:

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borrusia Dortmund)

Aubameyang has been shortlisted for the Ballon D'or

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City)

Riyad Mahrez

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

Sadio Mane Saint

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma)


Islam Slimani (Algeria & Leicester City)

Islam Slamini Celebrates Goal vs Russia

According to CAF, the nominees were decided by votes from members of the CAF Media Committee, CAF Technical and Development Committee and half of the 20-member Panel of Experts.

The statement said the winner of the award would be determined by votes from the Head Coaches/Technical Directors of the 54 National Associations affiliated to CAF.

Also, votes from Reunion Island and Zanzibar, together with the other half of the 20-member Panel of Experts will be counted towards the determination of the eventual winners, it said.

The 2016 Glo-CAF Awards Gala will be held on January 5, 2017 in Abuja.

SEE ALSO: Players On The BBC African Footballer Of The Year Shortlist

- Advertisement -
Ad ==> Discover how a young Nigerian graduate now makes a consistent 40k per week doing a legitimate online business. You too can start yours now, click here!!!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -