Amosun Inaugurates Technical Committee For Proposed University, Polytechnic

Governor Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun state yesterday inaugurated an 11-man Technical Committee to midwife the take-off of the proposed Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology, Abeokuta and the Ogun State Polytechnic, Ipokia.

Amosun had recently signed a bill upgrading the Moshood Abiola Polytechnic (MAPOLY) to a university status.The governor at the inauguration ceremony, held at the Governor’s office, Oke-Mosan, assured that his government would fully support and implement the recommendations of the committee.

According to him, the decision for the upgrade of the polytechnic to a university of science and technology and the establishment of the Ogun state polytechnic was to ensure that his administration leaves a lasting legacy in the education sector in the State.

The Governor advised members of the committee to bring their wealth of experience in university management and administration to bear and fast track the establishment of the institutions, stressing the need for the committee to facilitate and obtain all necessary approvals for the take-off of the institutions.

Former Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission (NUC) and Chairman of the committee, Professor Peter Okebukola, in his acceptance speech, affirmed the determination of the committee to ensure that the institutions become pacesetters for all universities of science and technology and polytechnics in the country.

He also promised to apply global best practices in the set up of the institutions, adding that high value researches from the institutions would aid socio-economic development of the State in particular and Nigeria in general.

Other members of the committee are, Prof. Oludele Itiola who is the secretary, Prof. Ishaq Oloyede, Prof. Rahmon Bello, Prof. Ganiu Olatunde, Prof. Femi Bamiro, Dr. Sabur Raji, Dr. Ebenezer Nkom, Chief Ronke Folarin, Mr. Bola Bankole and Mr. Rahim Jimoh.

Source: Guardian