Chelsea crowned 2016/17 Premier league Champions

Chelsea FC finished their 2016/17 English Premier League campaign in style beating Sunderland 5-1.

The win was the 30th for the Blues and it is a record number for the London club in a single season.

Javier Manquillo surprisingly shot the hosts in front when he struck three minutes into the game. However, Chelsea gave a perfect response as Willian scored the equaliser in the 8th minute.

The already relegated Black Cats were trying to prove stubborn and were able to hold the champions to a stalemate in the first half.

While Sunderland had it going for them in the first 45 minutes, it was a different ball game in the second half as Chelsea pumped in four goals to end the season on a high with 30 goals.

Eden Hazard, Pedro Rodriguez and a late brace from Michy Batshuayi saw Chelsea cruising to another win that confirms that the Blues are worthy champions indeed.

In the other part of London, there was heartache for Arsenal as the Gunners for the very first time in a long while failed to qualify for the Champions League.

Alex Iwobi came off the bench to put in a good shift a for a ten-man Arsenal who despite beating Everton 3-1 on the final day of the Premier League have missed out on Champions League football next season.

Goals from Hector Bellerin and Alexis Sanchez gave Arsenal a two-goal lead over Everton at half time; but the Toffees returned after the break to halve the deficit after Romelu Lukaku beat Petr Cech from the spot.

Wenger’s men restored their lead in the closing stages with a super curling effort from Aaron Ramsey but with Liverpool winning against Middlesbrough and City beating Watford, ensured the Arsenal were out of the race for a place in next season’s Champions League.

Full results

Arsenal 3 – 1 Everton

Burnley 1 – 2 West Ham United

Chelsea 5 – 1 Sunderland

Hull City 1 – 7 Tottenham Hotspur

Leicester City 1 – 1 AFC Bournemouth

Liverpool 3 – 0 Middlesbrough

Manchester United 2 – 0 Crystal Palace

Southampton 0 – 1 Stoke City

Swansea City 2 – 1 West Bromwich Albion

Watford 0 – 5 Manchester City