8 states, 38 people affected by monkey pox

38 cases of Monkey Pox has been recorded in 8 states in Nigeria, according to  Nigerian Centre for Disease Control. States said to have been affected by the disease include;  Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Delta, Edo, Ekiti, Enugu, Lagos, Rivers and the Federal Capital Territory.

It was also gathered that more men than women have been infected at a ratio of 2:1, with 116 suspected cases in 20 states and the FCT since the outbreak of the disease and 145 contacts under follow up.

The NCDC also disclosed in its report that a laboratory testing capacity has been established in the National Reference Laboratory, Abuja, with the agency also intensifying its awareness campaign.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *