South Africa Lists Ghana Among Visa-free Countries, Denies Nigeria



South Africa’s Department of Home Affairs has granted nationals of Ghana and seven other countries visa-free status into countries in South Africa.

However. Nigeria was not included on the list, even though both countries enjoy large volume of trade over the years.

According to the Minister of Home Affairs, Aaron Motsoaledi, citizens of the seven countries are able to enter South Africa without a visa.

“Tourism will soar if we relax visa requirements for entry into South Africa. We know that Tourism is very important for job creation,” he said on Thursday at a briefing in South Africa.

“Out of the 193 countries who are member states of the United Nations, the Department has granted visa-free status to 75 countries. Of these 16 are in our continent and are SADC members and 59 are from all over the world.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here