Update: Two Supreme Court Judges Held That Adeleke Scored Highest Votes In Osun Election

Senator Adeleke
Senator Ademola Adeleke

Two justices of the Supreme Court have upheld that Senator Ademola Adeleke is the winner of the Osun governorship election.

According to Justices Adamu Galinje and Kumai Akaahs, Senator Adeleke scored the majority votes in the September 22 governorship election and fulfilled the constitutional requirement to be declared a winner.

Justice Galinje declared that nullifying the proceedings of the Election Petitions Tribunal strictly because of the absence of Justice Peter Obiorah on only the proceedings of February 6th without a certified true copy of the original record of the proceedings tendered before the appellate court is “mere conjecture. ”

“The appeal is meritorious and has to be allowed. I allow the appeal and set aside the court of appeal decision,” Justice Galinje said.

Read Also: Supreme Court Dismisses Adeleke’s Appeal, Upholds Oyetola’s Victory

Also, Justice Akaahs held that it would have been better for the Supreme Court to have considered whether the Adeleke scored the highest votes in the main election as provided by the constitution.

“I hold that there was no need for the rerun election and declare that appellant is the winner of the election and should be declared the winner,” he said.

Meanwhile, an appeal by Senator Adeleke, challenging the declaration of Gboyega Oyetola as the winner of the Osun State governorship election was, today dismissed in a Supreme judgement.

The peak court ruled in favour of Oyetola as the governor of Osun state.