Imo Speaker, 7 Lawmakers Dump PDP

Collins Chiji, speaker of Imo State House Of Assembly and seven lawmakers have defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The defection comes two weeks after the supreme court sacked Emeka Ihedioha of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as governor of the state, and declared Hope Uzodinma, candidate of the APC, as the winner of the 2019 governorship election.

Chiji, who was elected as speaker in 2019  announced his defection and that of his colleagues during plenary session on Tuesday.


Read Also: Imo PDP Chairman Resigns, Days After Ihedioha’s Sack

The 15-minutes session was said to have ended after the speaker announced the names of the defecting lawmakers.

Those who defected are Uche Ogbuagu (Ikeduru); Dominic Ezerioha (Oru West); Chigozie Nwaneri(Oru East); Kanayo Onyemaechi (Owerri West); Kennedy Ibe (Obowo)’; Onyemaechi Njoku (Ihitte/Uboma), and Eddy Obinna (Aboh Mbaise).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here