Coronavirus: Saudi Arabia Announces Travel Ban From 50 Countries

The Saudi Arabian government says it has suspended travel from 50 countries in a bid to prevent the spread of coronavirus.

The announcement was made by the ministry of interior in a statement on Thursday.

The number of coronavirus cases in the country shot up to 45 in the country, a development that prompted the new move.

Nine countries from the Middle East and North African region, six countries in Asia, seven in Africa, 27 in Europe and a non-European country were affected the travel restriction.

Read Also: Coronavirus: Iran Asks IMF For Loan — First Time Since 1962

The nine countries from the Middle East and North African region include Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Syria, Turkey, and UAE.

Asian countries including China, India, Pakistan, Philippines, South Korea, Sri Lanka made the list while the seven African countries include Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, and Sudan.

The European countries include Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland (non-EU member).

The statement said Saudi citizens and nationals of the countries listed in the ban who have valid residency in the country are given a 72-hour period to return to Saudi Arabia before the travel suspension becomes effective.