Osinbajo Leads Presidential Committee On Power Sector Reform

Vice president Yemi Osinbajo has been appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari to lead the presidential reform committee on power sector.

This was made known in a statement by the governor of Kaduna state, Nasir El-Rufai who would work as the head of the ad-hoc committee reviewing the ownership of the electricity distribution companies (DisCos).

“This new presidential working group will coordinate ad-hoc committee and other efforts on a national scale, and report progress fortnightly to Mr. President,” the governor said.

“The presidential working group, which will meet weekly, commenced work at the Presidential Villa on Tuesday, at a meeting at which the Vice President presided.

Read Also: Osinbajo’s Son Holds Traditional Wedding (Photos)

“The key objective of the working group is to harmonise various efforts by the Federal Government and the 36 States, through the National Economic Council (NEC), on power sector reform and to oversee the design and implementation of a well-coordinated roadmap for the sector.

“The national working group will support critical financing initiatives with the World Bank Group, DFID and other key development partners. The group will also ensure that ongoing Federal and State initiatives are in sync with the Presidential Power Initiative being implemented with the German government and Siemens, and infrastructure investments of the TCN and the Ministry of Power.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here